Tuesday, 21 July 2015

Review | A Court of Thorns and Roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J Maas
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 416
Publication Date: May 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Source: Purchased
Summary (from Goodreads)

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Where to Buy: 

Image Map


Favorite Line: ‘…once I’d dreamed and breathed and thought in colour and light and shape’

I’ve only heard amazing reviews about this book so naturally I wanted to be in know and find out what made this book so magical. There was so much hype about this everywhere I looked- how amazing it is and that everyone in the world had to get their hands on it. So now I’m sitting here thinking there might be something wrong with me. Since I’m the only person I know who’s not fallen head over heels in love with this book. I think it was a good book and would pick up the next book since I’m an inquisitive person and always wants to see what happens next.

While reading I didn’t feel connected to the main characters through most of the story, I didn’t really care for them enough to be affected by anything that happened to them. It was even a struggle for me to continue, I would read a few pages, distract myself then not pick it back up till the next day. This went on for a few days.

But then I got to see the sweet, charming and beautifully amazing side of Tamlin just before something awful happens to him and it hit me hard. It was like I just got to know him and then BAM!!  I get hit with something I’m not expecting to happen. And all I can think is that didn’t happen in beauty and the beast so why it gotta happen to my Tam Tam.

Still I didn’t connect to Feyre that much, I was expecting more of an inner strength from her that I didn’t get. She was brave on the outside, mostly due to her pride and ego but so insecure on the inside. But I could understand where her insecurities stemmed from. Even if I had connected with her character I would’ve change my mind after she put her pride before letting Tam know how she felt before leaving him (oh, I blame her all right, just like Alis did). But I guess her character was written out well and was great for the way this story line had to go.
OK I’ll tell the truth I only dislike her because she stupidly left Tam after being told to stay by his side and everything will work out. She didn’t forget those words as she was leaving so yeah I blame her and I don’t like her.

Moving on, I absolutely adored Lucien, he was hilariously witty and so cheeky. He’s the only one that had me chuckling through this. He and Tam helped to get me through the story. I hope he finds love he really deserves to be happy. Ooh maybe the next book should be somehow based around his life and he can fall in love with Rapunzel or someone. It should work out with one of the retellings somehow.

Still thinking on Lucian, I hated his brother: the f**king stupid (fill in this blank with a word of your own words) four twats (alright i think I got most of it out of my system). How dare they do what they did to Lucian and think its ok to do that to family, I don’t care what stupid reason they have.

The other character i would like to first drown then burn on a stake is Amarantha (there’s a whole slew of cusses going through my mind for her from just typing her name). Anyone that’s read the story will absolutely know why I dislike her, to the max that dislike can get. Yes I can sort of understand her crazy but really it isn’t as justified as she would like me to believe.

When I got to the end, I could finally breathe a sigh of relief. For a while there I was scared my predicted outcome wasn’t going to happen. It had me holding my breath with all the drama going on. I guess the story building in the beginning was a bit long winded and dragging for me and most of the drama and all the build up from most of the story produced an amazing finale showdown that’s worth waiting for.

I wouldn’t reread this book as I have to be head over heels in love with both main characters to sit through a reread. But I would recommend to anyone that likes fantasy books. Its beauty and the beast but it’s also not. It’s a good read though and Sarah J Maas did an amazing job with this story line. Enough to make me want to see what happens next.

**affiliate link to book depository included**

No comments:

Post a Comment